top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharlyn Too

MUSIC TEACHING


Music is not as small an industry as many people perceive. At least to me, my musical job comes in many forms. Just solely on teaching, I have taught a wide range of subjects - from classical to contemporary, piano/keyboard, vocal, songwriting; to a wide range of people - from music teachers to school choir, children, parents, students, professionals etc. The list may just add on.

From these experiences, I have learnt that everyone is unique with different learning abilities and learning outcomes. No two students will produce the same results even if they were taught the same thing. And neither should they be taught in the same manner, because each one learns differently. This is one of the things which makes teaching interesting, and challenging.

Finding a good teacher-student fit is as important as a good employer-employee fit. However, in many cases, nothing fits perfectly well. It’s all a matter of building good and healthy relationships, based on trust and willingness to work together, and giving time to allow these elements to gel together.

It’s a blessing that the people I work with are generally positive and willing to build rapport. It’s not always a bed of roses, and every thorn which comes along the way is part of the process of growing into a beautiful rose.

Music teaching is a fulfilling job. I was chatting with one of my students, an undergraduate, about her working opportunities and she commented that it’s so good for me to be able to combine passion with work. I replied her with a yes and that I’m very blessed with that. Putting passion aside, it’s really just our attitude and how we perceive and handle our jobs. If you think of it as dreadful, it will be dreadful for you.

To the music educators out there who are working hard, keep going and keep the music alive, you never know who will find you an inspiration!



RECENT POSTS
bottom of page